Injury · Piriformis · Runners · Stretching

Stretching is hard

I am starting the week feeling refreshed and ready for an exciting week ahead! I love when I have plans scheduled for nearly every evening of the work week! I hope you have somethings to look forward to this week as well!

Last night a few friends and I gathered together for our weekly family dinners! This has become one of my favorite activities to participate in since I moved to Orlando! There is just something about gathering a bunch of people around the table that makes for lifes sweetest moments! Last night we moved the dinner tables outside, set up a buffet in the bed of a truck, and chowed down on a good home cooked meal.. now if that doesn’t scream SUMMER I don’t know what does! 🙂

IMG_1361 IMG_1363 IMG_1366 IMG_1365

I could probably speak for everyone when I say that this was one of the best family dinners to date!

With a full heart and belly I went to sleep around 10pm to wake up to my 5:40am alarm! (ouch!) I rolled got out of bed to get in some stretching. Stretching is one of the hardest things for me to put into my workout routine. However, I have been feeling really tight lately, and am determined to stay injury free. In the past I have dealt with Piriformis Syndrome which is common for runners but can be avoided if you stay dedicated to stretching your hip flexor and hamstrings. After experiencing the pain from that syndrome and just a general discomfort that comes from the tightness of muscles, I am adamant about keeping my muscles loose!

Stretching can be one of the most painful things for me. I feel uncomfortable and often don’t feel like I have control of my breathing. For some reason, I dread it while I am going through the motions, but like most workouts it does make me feel a lot better once completed! Maybe it is something that will become easier with time? Let’s hope! 🙂

Here are some of the stretches that I completed this morning before going on a 4 mile run, and rounding out my workout with a 15 minute leg workout!


               piriformis_stretch  outer-hipstretch180

hip-flexor-stretch

After publishing this post, I am off to work! I will check back in with you this time tomorrow!

What are some of the hardest things for you to fit into your fitness routine? What stretches do you enjoy?

One thought on “Stretching is hard

Leave a Reply

