Chili · Soup · Vegetables

Sweet Potato, Lentil & Kale Soup

Hello out there!

I have a new recipe for you! I absolutely love vegetables but I know that a lot of people have something against them..and I understand that. I feel the same way about fruit. You will hardly ever find me munching on grapes, or apples, but I usually sneak fruit into my diet in the form of smoothies! Similarly, there are ways to sneak vegetables into your meals without just chompin’ย on a stick of celery.

This is the definition of a hearty winter soup! However, there’s no rule against eating winter soups in the summertime, and if there is than I’m a rebel! I think this soup was so delicious that you wouldn’t even know you ate as many vegetables as you did!

FullSizeRender

Sweet Potato, Lentil & Kale Soup โค

Ingredients

2 1/2 Cups Lentils
1 Large Sweet Potato (Cut into 2inch pieces)
1 Small Red Onion (Chopped)
10 Baby Carrots (Chopped)
2 Heaping handfuls of Kale (Chopped into bite size pieces)
1 Can Diced Tomatoes
2 Tbsp Cumin
1 Tbsp Cinnamon
1 Tbsp Chili Powder
1 Cup Mushrooms (optional) <—I didn’t use, but think it is a great option!
1 Cup Celery (optional) <—I didn’t use, but think it is a great option!
32 oz Chicken Stock
1.5 Cups Water

Directions:

In a pot pour in water, chicken stock, cinnamon, cumin, and chili Powder. Let everything simmer and mix together while chopping vegetables. Add vegetables and once all vegetables are added turn stove up to a boil. Let everything boil for 15 minutes. Bring back down to a simmer before serving to guests and make sure that all vegetables are tender. I served this soup with a side of tortilla chips!

soup

I think Lentils really have a way ofย filling you up fast! I cleared my bowl and was completely stuffed! I know I often think that vegetables don’t really have any staying power. Sometimes I think that I won’t get full from eating vegetables, but this soup proved me wrong!

Enjoy! ๐Ÿ™‚

2 thoughts on “Sweet Potato, Lentil & Kale Soup

Leave a Reply

